Laundry, the true love of my life….

…no seriously…

Nah, I love the smell of clean laundry. I love the feel of clean sheets and warm, fresh from the dryer towels. It’s the DOING of the laundry that I’m not so in love with.  (I know there are some moms out there that do…call me…we can work out something…)

After I had Nathan, I became very concerned with what I was putting out there, chemically. That and I stopped working to stay home with him, it kind of became a money crunch.  So what’s a gal to do? We can’t keep buying clothes. So I started doing some research and found out I could make my own laundry soap far cheaper than I could make it. Armed with my new found knowledge, I went to a local store and purchased some Borax, Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda, and some Fels Naptha. (You can use Ivory soap…yeah seriously the bar soap! I just prefer the smell of the Fels Naptha.) Oh and can’t forget the grater.  The recipe that I use is dry, but you could just as easily make a liquid soap as well. The best part, I spend around $30/YEAR on laundry soap.  I use distilled white vinegar as a softener. The only thing I use commercially is dryer sheets. I haven’t found anything yet that equals them in the static department.

So, now for the “recipe”……

You will need :

Borax

Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

Fels Naptha (it’s a bar soap in the laundry soap isle. I generally get mine at Kroger for $1.29.)

  • Grate the bar of soap on the small grate setting on the grater. (this is the worst part, it takes around 20 minutes.)
  • Grab a pint Mason Jar (or whatever you have handy.)
  • Mix 1/4 cup borax, 1/4 cup A&HSWS, 1/2 cup grated fels naptha.
  • Shake like crazy to mix it all up.
  • Use 1 tbsp per normal load. More if you have hard water. I use 3 tbsp per large load.

Now, this isn’t convenient, but I am happy that I do it. We’re saving plenty of money and it’s better for my son’s health. (He has breathing issues.) So it works for my family.

In what ways do you save your family money?

 

De-lurk yourself. :D

