How much is too much?

 

How do you know when you’ve shared too much information with people? I’ve had a personal friend ask if it was really necessary to name my blog “Mom, I pooted…” She thinks that it is a wee bit too personal and it’s not “tasteful”. Seriously though, who’s toddler has NEVER made a reference to their passing gas. It’s either poot, toot, fart or as my niece loved to say…flatulence. It’s something that they do that makes us want to deny any knowledge of them. It’s their goal in life to make our faces burn so red that we experience our own solar flares. But really, what is too much? I don’t think talking about the potty or diaper changes or the muck that’s in them is too far, yet, I’m reticent in posting more personal information like his first and middle name. First name, no problem, as well as some photos. But we’ve never had naked baby pictures taken nor will we. But really, where is the line drawn? I see some blogs that focus on their finances and they’re so bold that they actually put out their income and outcome. ACK! I wouldn’t dream of putting my finances so boldly out there. I understand the need for accountability, however, I can do that in a more private fashion. The other side of the coin is, making my personal life so out there that it makes others uncomfortable.

So exactly how much is too much? And how do you decide what you will or not publish?

2 responses to “How much is too much?

  1. I guess it boils down to what you feel comfortable telling/ showing the world. That’s how I gauge it with my blog. Do I care if the world knows I am a horrible cook? Nope.

    • I guess for me, is over-sharing. I don’t think that I would be over-sharing, however, my friend pointed out that “Mom, I pooted” was probably too much. And to me, it was par for the course of being a parent. 🙂 Welcome to the new blog, Grace. 🙂 Oh and YAY! My first comment! 😀

De-lurk yourself. :D

